Tags

, ,

The comment spammers have been quite active lately. Only today, I have had to reject 10 or 15 generic comments like this one from “Sophie”:

Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you
an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

If you wish to contact me, you can comment on any post you like. However, I prefer that your comment somehow relates to the topic at hand, and that it isn’t totally transparent that the commenter’s “name” is the address of a website that can’t be bothered to, like, you know … PAY for advertising space. Or would like to use my blog to promote itself to search engines. In that case, the likelihood is approximately 100% that I will reject your comment without further ado.

Spam spam wonderful spam...

Spam spam wonderful spam…

As for your creative ideas for my blog, please feel free to share them in the comment field. I suggest that you open a WordPress account, start your own legitimate blog, and use that account for commenting on other users’ blogs. Preferably without references to commercial websites, except where such references are relevant to the subject. As for my email address, I’m sorry to say I can’t share it with you. You see, I use it for serious purposes and would prefer not to share it with spammers.

